Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

  • $13.50
    Unit price per 
  • Save $3.49


OVERVIEW

Missouri, 1849: Samantha dreams of moving back to New York to be a
professional musician--not an easy thing if you're a girl, and harder
still if you're Chinese. But a tragic accident dashes any hopes of
fulfilling her dream, and instead, leaves her fearing for her life.
With the help of a runaway slave named Annamae, Samantha flees town
for the unknown frontier. But life on the Oregon Trail is unsafe for
two girls, so they disguise themselves as Sammy and Andy, two boys
headed for the California gold rush.

Sammy and Andy forge a powerful bond as they each search for a link to
their past, and struggle to avoid any unwanted attention. But when
they cross paths with a band of cowboys, the light-hearted troupe turn
out to be unexpected allies. With the law closing in on them and new
setbacks coming each day, the girls quickly learn that there are not
many places to hide on the open trail.

An unforgettable story of friendship and sacrifice--perfect for fans of
Code Name Verity.

PRODUCT INFO

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers (March 17, 2015)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0399168036
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0399168031
  • Reading age ‏ : ‎ 12 - 17 years
  • Grade level ‏ : ‎ 7 - 9
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1.05 pounds
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.81 x 1.22 x 8.56 inches